Blessed

For Christmas in 1996 my good friend Bruce Barbour gave me the devotional book, My Utmost for His Highest, by Oswald Chambers.  Of all the books I have been given, I think perhaps this one has had the biggest impact in my life.

Of course, like many people, I didn’t bother to crack this little book until I faced the first really major crisis in my life in 2001.

Since 2001 I have spent many mornings with Oswald.  Bruce gave me an idea that has been a huge blessing to me.

Each day I read, I write a short note or prayer about what is going on.  My first diary is jammed with notes from different years, and every year it’s great to see what God has done, and to be reminded that the present crisis will also be handled by God, just like He took care of the previous ones.

For example, through the years on Jan 8th I prayed about:

A new business we started that tanked
A book deal
Blessings for a seminar
A family member with cancer
A family member with serious immune issues
A family member who had a heart cath
An old friend battling alcoholism

Reflecting on every one of these it is truly amazing how God has worked.  I am so blessed!

My recommendation for you in 2010 – spend some daily time with God, and write your thoughts down.  He doesn’t need you to write them down, but you will be blessed when you see His hand in your life as you look back.

Explore posts in the same categories: Faith

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment