Debt Free!

2009 was the toughest, and yet the most rewarding, year in our company’s history.  For the last 10 years we have been dragging around a huge anchor of debt that we had gotten the old fashioned way – we earned it!  Like a boil on our backside, this debt always seemed to make itself known just as we were about to move into position to do something big.  There were several times when we put a lot of padding around it so we didn’t notice it so much, but still every time we needed a little extra help or we were ready to go to the next level, the protective bandages would come off and it would ooze its poison throughout our company.

A few years back I started listening to a dude named Dave Ramsey.  From the minute I started listening to Dave I knew he was a good guy (mainly because he quotes Dad a lot!) and he knows what he is talking about when it comes to debt.  I started reading his books and listening to his podcasts, and before I knew it I was infected.  Then, in 2008, I got to attend the Entreleadership program in Cancun.  That’s when I realized two big things:  Debt was killing us and keeping us from achieving our mission, and getting rid of it was MY CHOICE and MY RESPONSIBILITY.

There is no doubt that the Dave Ramsey system for getting rid of personal debt or business debt works.  But here is the key:  If you have a big boil like we did, nobody can lance that sucker but YOU! Dave can provide the lance, but YOU have to take it in your own hands and OWN it.  It’s no fun to start lancing away, but the immediate pressure release is amazing, and soon, as the poison is squeezed out of your body, you find you can sleep in any position and run as fast as you want.

Thank you, Dave Ramsey, for all that you and your team do.  We officially became 100% debt free in November of 2009.  We owe more than you will ever know to you guys, possibly even our company’s future.  You see, while we were getting out of debt, the economy took a turn for the worse and our revenue went down 40%. I mention this to let everyone who is reading this know that the time to start getting out of debt is right now, and no matter the circumstances surrounding your situation, you can do something to improve your position.

No matter what 2010 brings, I know this:  Our chance for fulfilling our mission as a company is infinitely better because we are DEBT FREE!!!!!!!!!!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Business, debt, economy, Success

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

25 Comments on “Debt Free!”

  1. Brian Says:

    Tom, Awesome Job and big congtats!!! I am a big Dave Ramsey fan as well and listen to his show during the day as I do proposals(when I can) and watch his show on Fox News just about every night. He is doing this country a lot of good. I am debt free except the house and am working to pay that off so I can obtain the amazing feeling of being totally debt free. Merry Christmas to the Ziglar family and I hope 2110 is your best year ever. I am sure your Dad is very proud of you and what you have been able to acheive.

  2. Daniel Tardy Says:

    Great job Tom! That’s fantastic! I’m looking forward to seeing how you guys will experience a new level of growth as you experience this freedom!

    I’m proud of you, brother.

  3. Leroy Campbell Says:

    Congratulations!

  4. the Dad Says:

    Spectacular work, Tom. Well done!

  5. Set Therapist Says:

    Way to go!!! Ziglar quotes mean even more now!


  6. Congratulations! I can’t imagine how good that must feel. I see many folks in my practice who are suffering from the physical, emotional, and social toll that financial problems create. It’s great to be remind that hope does exist.


  7. I’m celebrating with you and the company Tom. Way to go! Congratulations and much continues success in the future!! I’m sending you an email between Christmas and New Years!

    Merry CHRISTmas

    Wendy M. Reynolds,
    http;//beautycomeforth.com


  8. Congratulations Tom. You need to call into Dave’s show so you can have your whole company yell, “We’re Debt Free!”. I’m sure he’d be happy to have you.

  9. Archie Winningham Says:

    What’s most inspirational about this “Debt Free” blog post is the fact that two of my most favorite organizations in the world are mentoring each other and applying the principals that both teaches! Ziglar Inc., and Lampo Group are both living testimonies that we can all live a “Better than Good” and “Better than we deserve” life! God doesn’t place awesome folks in the same path for no reason! Thus, my desire is to hang with and be associated with Ziglar and Lampo the rest of my life!

    Merry Christmas,

    Archie W.


  10. I discovered Zig Ziglar by hearing Dave Ramsey talk about him. Dave and Zig are two of the people who have inspired and motivated me the most.

    Congratulations on becoming debt free!

    Michael Ray

  11. Pete K. Says:

    Congratulations!

    I’ll just say ditto what Archie W. said!

  12. James Hurst Says:

    I loved what Archie above me had to say. Two organizations mentoring each other. I love the material from both of these organizations. I am on baby step two and very grateful that I have a plan. That is what is key for me. Who cares if you don’t pay off the highest interest loan first, pay off the smallest ones first and build some traction. At least it is a plan, which is better than not having one. Merry Christmas to Everyone. May we all Give like no one else this season and always is my hope for this season.


  13. It’s so refreshing to hear that your revenues took a 40% dip this year – not because I would wish that on anyone, but because so few companies are telling the whole truth about their economic realities.

    We hear a lot from the big corporations – because their financials are public record. But to hear the realities from peeps like you belie what so many people have said about the economy being “what we make of it”.

    While I think there’s some truth to that, I also acknowledge that other circumstances can come into play.

    So bravo, Tom, on being debt free and for sharing your truth with all of us!


  14. […] What about when a business you’ve heard of is debt free? Now that’s quite a story! Read about Zig Ziglar’s business becoming debt free on his son Tom’s […]


  15. […] Tom Ziglar is the proud son of Zig Ziglar and CEO of Ziglar.  This article was taken from Tom’s blog.  To leave a comment on Tom’s blog site, click here.  […]

  16. Harry Tucker Says:

    Tom,

    Thank you for a powerful and refreshing post.

    It is refreshing from the standpoint of describing your position with pure honesty and authenticity. After all, one does get tired of people writing about how the recession has never touched them, how they have been overloaded with cash from day one, etc. – especially when it is probably not the truth.

    Thank you also for sharing the hope and strength that comes when one is able to move the demon of debt off one’s back. I’m sure many will become excited to know that there is a light at the end of the tunnel and Dave Ramsey provides incredible insight into how to reach that light.

    My family and I are exploring a new tithing model this year (new for us, anyway) that I first explored in the writings of Ralph Doudera. We are going to tithe 10% of our net worth each year. Not 10% of our income as some people like to do (which draws them into asking “gross or net”) – 10% of our net worth.

    My thought around this is that it will compell us to work even harder for our money, making it work harder for us and for others. Ralph has some interesting thoughts around this practice from the standpoint of Kingdom building that I invite others to explore. This also invites us to explore how much we REALLY need versus how much we can make work for others.

    Once we get the 10% figured out, we will increase it from there. After all, there is an abundance in this beautiful world to draw from but how beautiful is it unless we allow it to flow through us instead of stopping with us?

    Thank you for a wonderful, honest, inspiring post, Tom.

    God bless.

    Harry

  17. Wes Harris Says:

    Tom,

    Congratulations!!! I am also a Dave Ramsey fan. I can say that it is truly a wonderful feeling to be debt free. My lovely wife and I have been debt free for about 7 years and it is wonderful.

    Thank you for honoring your father in such a great way!!

  18. Heidi Says:

    Congratulations! Thank you for the encouragement and hope that his can be accomplished! It is exciting to think that with perserverance and one step at a time you have succeeded in achieving a monster goal! We are on our way too!

  19. Desiree Lang Says:

    Hi Tom,

    What a great achievement and one my hubby and I are striving to get to. We decided in 2008 that we were crazy to be living with so much debt.

    We have our own training company and this has been a very difficult year. Our first 2 years were awesome, so this year was really tough for us.

    Thank you for the daily inspirational messages that keep me going.

    I hope to let you know in the next 24 months that we are debt free as well, God willing.

    Its the way our parents lived and we have been mad to get caught up in the consumer spending what you do not have.

    All the best for 2010 and I will certainly pay Dave Ramsey;s site a visit to find out more.

    Kind Regards
    Desiree
    South Africa

  20. Lyle Says:

    Tom,
    Congrats! I have been a fan of you guys since I was in High School. Now I am middle aged, in the trenches with to much debt and trying to figure out I got here and how to get out. I am refreshed by your honesty, and am even more motivated to figure this out. Thanks for sharing.
    Lyle

  21. Evanna Says:

    Great to read your article. We too, got inspired by Dave Rsmsey, and are now debt free except for our mortgage. What a great feeling to not have that burden on our shoulders. You will be amazed at what you can do with the money you used to send off to creditors and the testimony you will be to other businesses and to individuals. Congratulations!!

  22. James Weaver Says:

    Tom

    Congratulations to you and the company on your major accomplishment of becoming debt free. Dave Ramsey is the best and I recommend that everyone listen to what he says about debt–it really works.

    God will also honor your decision. He addresses debt very specifically in His Word.

    Happy New Year!!!.


  23. Dear Tom,
    I have not had the pleasure of meeting you, personally, but have had the pleasure and honor of having dinner with your Mom & Dad a couple times; once in Dallas when he was the keynote speaker at PPAI (Promotional Products Assoc. Int’l) and then here in San Diego.
    Thank you for your inspirational article about getting out of debt. You are definitely a “chip off the old block” and I know that your Mom and Dad are so very proud of you… I really look forward to your weekly devotional emails; they keep me going during this challenging financial time!
    Here’s to the next 50 years or so of Ziglar Training.
    Stay well and continue to be blessed.
    Happy New Year and Love to Laurie Magers
    Judie Gianturco
    JenMark Industries (named after my son, Mark and daughter, Jennifer)
    San Diego, CA
    PS: Look for a couple “goodies” in your mail box sometime soon!(I’ll send the pkg when I return from the annual PPAI convention mid January)

  24. Christal Barquero Says:

    Tom that is so fabulous. I thought for sure my eyes were deceiving me when I saw this post. I became a big fan of yours and Zig Ziglar because Dave Ramsey spoke so highly of Zig. I am so excited for you and your company. How cool that you will be able to weather storms and consider them just slow times instead of crisis times. Congratulations!!!


Leave a Reply

