Zig Ziglar’s Key Messages

This question came in from a Success 2.0 Webcast

“Of all of your powerful messages, which one do you think is the most important?”  Armand

Armand, it is very hard to narrow Dad’s key messages down to one.  I will give you several that always come up when you ask Dad about this.

Zig Ziglar’s Key Messages:

“You can have everything in life you want, if you will just help enough other people get what they want.”

“When you do everything with integrity you have nothing to fear because you have nothing to hide.”

“What happens to you is not nearly as important as how you handle what happens to you.”  You have the choice to either respond or react when something bad happens to you.

“You are who you are and what you are because of what has gone into your mind.  You can change who you are and what you are by changing what goes into your mind.”

“Be a constant student.”

“Develop the home-court advantage.”

“Faith in Christ is what changed everything for me.”

The most important one to me when I see Dad is “Faith in Christ.”  It has eternal significance, drives everything else he does, and gives him joy in the struggle.

Please comment if there is another Key Message from Zig Ziglar that impacted you.  I would love to hear it!

Explore posts in the same categories: Faith, performance, Right Choices, Success

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “Zig Ziglar’s Key Messages”


  1. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by tomziglar: Zig Ziglar’s Key Messages – new blog post – http://budurl.com/k8ge

  2. Ray Wilkinson Says:

    Fir me it’s the ” What happens to me” as it makes me realize that I have a choice and that I need to think about that choice and than make the right choice based on what is right in Gods eyes.


  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by John Clark, fwdvault. fwdvault said: From my feeds: Zig Ziglar’s Key Messages http://bit.ly/6y26E6 […]

  4. Jim Sobeck Says:

    I used to tell off an obnoxious customer once in a while until I heard Zig say, “You can feed your ego or you can feed your family. You can’t feed them both.”

    After hearing that I learned to hold my tongue with customers.

  5. Duane H Says:

    I think Zig has many quotes and messages for motivation, but it was the ones for self-image were the most life changing for me. I didnt see it myself. It took Zig’s words for me to really see how bad I saw myself. Thanks a million!

  6. Eric Says:

    “You have to be before you can do, and you have to do before you can have.” -Zig Ziglar

  7. Mike Lewis Says:

    I love his quote “I’m so optimistic, I’ll go after Mobey Dick in a row boat and take the tarter sauce with me” I LOVE THAT

  8. pastorcox Says:

    I can remember hearing on a tape from a long time ago in which Zig said that “every day is a good day. If you don’t believe it, just try missing one.”

    Also wanted to tell you that a good friend of mine, who is now a VP at a corporation you would recognize easily found Christ as a result of listening to Zig’s testimony of his faith in Christ.

    I love Zig’s stuff!!!


  9. The most profound and memorable message I got from your Dad was in Springfield MO this year. Blessed to spend a few minutes in the Green Room prior to he and Julie going on stage at a Get Motivated Seminar, your Dad’s faith shined bright and was his personal message to us, and for us, to help us.
    “Never let anyone tell you to take God out of your speaking or your messages”. They’ll say ‘Dan, don’t talk about God so much, many people will turn away’. Zig shared…”Don’t you listen to them. Just as the Holy Spirit whispered to me years ago is what I am telling you…Dan, you and Rebecca keep God always in your messages to blended families”.

    I’ve heard your Dad share his story about that same issue in his early days of speaking. But to have it shared directly and with a an eye ball to eyeball look and ‘See You Over the Top’ handshake, it was a ‘Defining Moment’ for us.

    Whether in sales, ministry, speaking or talking to your next door neighbor…. WHOSE we are is more important than WHO we are or WHAT we do.

  10. Juan Batista Says:

    Nice blog. Following you on Twitter.

  11. Dawn Says:

    These are all great..Such an inspiration to many!!!

  12. anita Says:

    Thanks for this wonderful short list. The one I find myself discussing most often with our children is –

    “I truly expect things to be and become “Better Than Good.” I have learned through the years that, for reasons I can’t scientifically or even theologically explain, how I expect things to be greatly influences how they become.” – Zig Ziglar

  13. David Says:

    “You don’t pay the price for success. You pay the price for failure.”

    That is my favorite. It’s from his audiobook “Goals”.

    Greetings from Switzerland

  14. Rich Vosler Says:

    For me it was all of the above and his book “How to Raise Positive Kids In a Negative World.” I’m a single dad of 9 children (after my wife passed away a few years ago) and that book did a lot for me. I also love “Success for Dummies” which I still refer to now, and one of my long time favorites that I keep handy is “Staying Up Up Up in a Down Down Down World.” WOW. Zig, you are AWESOME! Thank you so much for all you’ve given.


Leave a Reply

