Finding Hope – and Keeping It!

The following two questions came in response to my blog post — Attitude or Skill?

“So how does one overcome the beaten down attitude? I used to think differently, but in the past few years I’ve lost hope. How do I get it back?” from Brian

“What do you think is the most important part of maintaining an opportunity attitude?” from AJ

Perhaps you have asked yourself the same questions.  Hope is the one thing that everyone wants.  No matter what you have, or don’t have, if you are hopeless, it doesn’t really matter.  If you are filled with hope, then no matter the situation, you can keep on going.  So how do you find hope and then grow and maintain it?

First, you have to realize that finding hope is a choice.  You have to look for it, and you have to take actions to create it.  It is born from the belief that what you do can — and does — make a difference.

Dad has a great question that he asks his audiences when he speaks – “How many of you here today believe you can do something in the next three weeks that will make your family life, your personal life, or your business life——WORSE, can I see your hands?”  Of course everyone laughs because it is the opposite of what they expect him to say, but then the reality hits them.  If you ADMIT you can do something that will make your life worse, then you have to ADMIT you can do something that will make your life better!  You have the power to make your life either better or worse, and the choice is yours!

Hope is born when you realize you have the power to make your life better, and the choice is yours.

Now comes the action part.  What things can you do that will create a better life for you?  First, you must start with retraining your thinking.  If you have a hopeless, “beaten down” attitude, then you must put the right positive life-building information into your mind.  This is a choice, and a choice you have to make every day.  Thoughts always precede actions, so in order to have the right actions, you must have the right thoughts.  Don’t worry about your emotional state during all of this.  Your positive emotions will catch up after you begin to take action.  As Dad says, “Logic will not change an emotion, but action will.”

What kind of actions can you take that will make your life better?  Here is a challenge for you.  Get a sheet of paper right now and quickly write down 20 things you can do today that will make your life better today – and then pick 5 or 10 of them and do them!  Here are a few that should be on every list:  Tell a family member you love them; call a friend and thank them for their friendship; read an article about your profession that will build your skill level; stand up and stretch your muscles and maintain good sitting posture; drink lots of water; listen to Zig Ziglar on your MP3 player…..You get the picture!  You can find hope, and grow it.

Once you are doing these things, then you need to take the next step.  Simply identify where you want to go, what you want to do/accomplish, and then break it down into small action steps – and start your journey – today.

Yes, you can find hope, and create it in your own life.  But I would be remiss if I did not tell you that there is eternal hope that nothing in this world can shake.  This is Dad’s real secret about hope because he understands that because his eternity is secure there is nothing in the present, no circumstance or trial, that will take away what Christ has done for him.

Explore posts in the same categories: Faith, performance, Success

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

15 Comments on “Finding Hope – and Keeping It!”

  1. Jim Donovan Says:

    Awesome post! What a powerful idea. If I can make my life worse (and who hasn’t) I can make it better. I love the simplicity. In this hectic world we live in, we tend to complicate everything when it’s simple a matter of deciding what you want, taking action and having the “Faith of a mustard seed.”


  2. […] Finding Hope – and Keeping It! « Ziglar Pure and Simple tomziglar.com/2009/10/14/finding-hope-%E2%80%93-and-keeping-it – view page – cached The following two questions came in response to my blog post — Attitude or Skill? — From the page […]

  3. Pamela Jacob Says:

    What a wonderful post. When I first started out with my business I had the normal struggles of a new business – and your dad pulled me up by my boot straps and really helped me to keep going in times of discouragement.

    You have really captured the essence of his philosophy in this article.

    Thank you …

  4. Tony Ramirez Says:

    “Hope is born when you realize you have the power to make your life better, and the choice is yours.”
    You touched on a lot of key points.
    Sometimes people get so beat up by life that making that choice is “hard.” They have failed too much and have made it a habit to have disbelief. One thing that really helped me was reading. Not a novel but a self-development book. On top of that I started listening to inspirational MP3’s, and I can honestly say that it has changed my life!


  5. Great post! There are many things we can’t control, but we CAN control our attitude.


  6. Hope & Attitude. Dr. Phil states how we define something is what we attract.

    So often we assume the defintions we use. As an example the most important word is ATTITUDE. A position or bearing as indicating action, feeling or mood. – Websters Dictionary & Earl Nightingale.

    Hope is an ATTITUDE. So how one defines this word is what they will attract. I suggest you have people give their defintions of HOPE and you will see how much we assume and what they will attract.

    Dr. Funk states the mind works with words pictures and images – therefore the importance of semantics.

    You change an ATTTITUDE like hope by changing a THOUGHT.

    Yours in Better Service,
    Aloha & Mahalo
    DocJTR

  7. Billy Cox Says:

    Nice Tom. I am writing an article on hope . You can’t have power in the present without having hope in the future! Hope is one of the most powerful energizing words in the world. It takes obstacles and turns themnimto possibilities.It allows us to envision that the future is greater than the past. Without hope we have nothing! Hope is the one thing we can’t do without! Offer hope by helping people change their thinking! Give someone the gift of hope today!!!

    Billy Cox #GetintheGame!

  8. elephanthunters Says:

    Great post Tom! Scripture says that hope differed makes the heart sick. I think the opposite of hope is fear and so the way to overcome fear is to spread more hope.


  9. One of my early mentors, while I was working an internship in college, told me that “you have two choices when you awake every morning. You can choose to be happy, or you can choose to be unhappy. I choose to be happy.”
    Hope, happiness, despair, excitement… life IS a series of choices. Kudos to you for reminding me to take action this morning… I’m going to give him a call and say thanks.

  10. Matt Rosen Says:

    What a great post! Filling our minds with positive is our job, and our decision. The world has an overwhelming amount of negative being thrown at us from every media angle possible. Listening and reading to people like you folks is crucial in building up our hope. Awesome ending to the post. Christ has given us eternal life, and that is our decision as well.
    Thanks again, Matt

  11. JoGiann Says:

    I am afraid, I’m wondering whether it’s okay to make mistakes, errors in judgement and not be punished for them. By punishment I mean being threatened that my job is on the line. My resilience is being tested daily. I don’t know where the freedom comes from – I also don’t know how I’ve got to this stage. I’m asked covertly each day to let go of my own values simply because I’m paid. I work hard and others take the credit and I’m supposed to smile, whilst not only do I believe that that type of behaviour is just plain wrong, I’m needing to ‘cope’ because how else do I earn a living whilst maintaining my own sense of worth. I’m struggling. Endeavouring to discuss involvement in an open manner seems to only create snipper-mentality. Being assertive doesn’t work and yet being submissive is eating away at my being. I’m left wondering where’s the balance. I’m afraid to be assertive, when I am I’m terrified there’ll be fall out and when I’m submissive I feel I’m belittling myself. How do I reach a place where it feels sane? I am deeply wanting advice. Continually being past up for promotion, continually having my superior take my work and call it hers, continually being challenged, questioned, and i ask myself a fundamental question- am i coming from integrity and genuinely i would say 85% i am, the other i’m reacting usually when i’ve reached a wall of patience. Some advice, practical advice. please.


  12. […]  Tom Ziglar is the proud son of Zig Ziglar and CEO of Ziglar. This article was taken from his blog.  If you would like to leave a comment, click here. […]

  13. seventyprime Says:

    Tom, I like your article and I thought it would work to send it to my prison Pen Pal who is a Zig fan anyway. But the items you list that should be on his list do not apply for him. His family, relatives have “written him off” since he’s been inside. Can you come up with better items for him in prison than:Here are a few that should be on every list: Tell a family member you love them; call a friend and thank them for their friendship; read an article about your profession that will build your skill level; stand up and stretch your muscles and maintain good sitting posture; drink lots of water; listen to Zig Ziglar on your MP3 player Those don’t quite “get it” inside. Don

  14. Bryan Says:

    I was laid off on October 12 and it has been a struggle to keep moving forward. I loose hope everyday and then God sends a message my way via an email or phone call or just a thought that I need to stand up and believe. It is action like you said that makes the difference. The Bible says, “the STEPS of a good man are ordered by the Lord”, not the couch of a good man. I need to step out and let action lead to opportunity. Thanks for the encouragement.


  15. “You have the power to make your life either better or worse, and the choice is yours!”

    This really spoke to me because it is exactly what I have learned the past few months. Thank you Mr. Ziglar and Terri Dunevant!

    http://mmridgeway.wordpress.com/you-have-the-power-to-make-your-life-either-better-or-worse-and-the-choice-is-yours/


Leave a Reply

