Buried Treasure

This past month Mom and Dad moved to a new home.  Since they moved into a place 70% smaller (and 100% nicer!), the family had to pitch in and determine what to pitch out.  My job was to sort through the thousands of books and determine which ones to keep.  (I am happy to report that we were able to get rid of three of them!)

As I was sorting through the books I realized that many of them had been read and underlined by Dad.  Jackpot!  There is nothing better than reading through a book and seeing what your Dad thought was important, and then really understanding where your Dad’s ideas came from.  And of course, when your Dad is Zig Ziglar, it is even better.

As I was flipping through one of the underlined books I came to a part that caught my eye.  Dad had underlined a great deal over a series of pages on the subjects of faith, business, and prosperity.  The author was making the point that in Hebrew the words for faith and business are very close in meaning.  The author pointed out that in order to be truly successful in business (or in sales), you do the work first and then you get paid.  This takes faith!  Faith that your hard work will be rewarded.  The author then points out that societies that have a high level of faith in God tend to be much more prosperous than those that don’t because faith is like a muscle; the more you use it, the bigger it gets.  Faith in God literally allows you to have more faith in your business and that your hard work will pay off.

This belief is really a cornerstone of Dad’s philosophy, “You can have everything in life you want, if you will just help enough other people get what they want.”  I think it’s pretty amazing that Hebrew, God’s language (and which Dad cannot speak or read), is in perfect harmony with this major principle.  It really does help when you know the author personally!

Speaking of authors, and the book I am referring to, the story gets better.  Finding the underlined words from Dad was like finding buried treasure.  The coincidence (God’s way of staying anonymous) is that the title of the book I am referring to is Buried Treasure by Rabbi Daniel Lapin.  Imagine finding buried treasure in Buried Treasure!  What a double blessing!

(Side note:  Rabbi Lapin will be leading a Ziglar Success 2.0 webcast with us on September 15.  The subject:  Boost Your Income – 3 Spiritual Steps to Success.  Register Here – your first time with us is Free!)

Explore posts in the same categories: Business, communication, Faith, sales

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

25 Comments on “Buried Treasure”


  1. Love the new blog, maches your title perfectly pure and simple.Absolutely loved the post because I believe we cannot have true success without faith and believe and we don’t have to go far to get it since it originates from God and is placed within every individual created, so the key to unlocking my buried treasure is contained within my oun mind, heart, and soul. God is limitless and fearless, so as business people do we let fear stop us and set limits on ourselves. I’m going to start writing a new book in my own life and business with new found faith and passion. Thanks


  2. Will the Rabbi be there in person?

    I’ll be at the Ziglar offices that day for a class.

  3. Gene Hogan Says:

    Thanks Tom!

  4. Danny Smith Says:

    Tom: your Dad, as you are aware, has been an inspiration to many, and I’m one of those. When God brought Zig into my life in the late 80’s, I was a mess in many ways.

    One of those “ways” was how I viewed Christianity and work/business. I look back on my journey and realized how blessed I’ve been to have had such men as your Dad to have been my mentors; even though they’ve most all been through books, tapes, and now through this thing called Twitter!

    Thanks caring on your family tradition and God Bless,

  5. Shelly Starkey Says:

    Hi Tom, I met your dad at a Curves Convention in Vegas several years ago. At the time, my sister and I owned a Curves franchise. Life was good. I gave thanks to God everyday for allowing me to be front and center, helping and serving others for eight beautiful years. The downturn in the economy forced us to sell our Curves in Dec 2008. Thankfully, we sold (not closed) our doors like many others in this great nation. The thought of returning to a high-stress corporate job is overwhelming to me – its what I did for 20+ years prior to opening our Curves. I would like a gig like Zig. I have been an inspirational writer since surviving a ruptured brain aneurysm in 1999 – ten years ago – right before I left the corporate world and entered the small business ownership world. Can you ask your dad to give this old gal some advice on how to be a motivational inspirer like him? He’s always been my hero. Looking forward to hearing from you (and Zig!) Love, Shelly

  6. anita Says:

    Tom, thanks for this fun story and thought-provoking post.

  7. Walter Says:

    Ah yes, faith. The most powerful attitude a man can ever have. Sadly, people nowadays are impatient; everybody wants quick results; they don’t understand the virtue of faith anymore.

    You are right, faith like a muscle can be developed. I takes time though, but once mastered you can move mountains. 🙂


  8. […] Buried Treasure « Ziglar Pure and Simple tomziglar.com/2009/09/12/buried-treasure – view page – cached This past month Mom and Dad moved to a new home. Since they moved into a place 70% smaller (and 100% nicer!), the family had to pitch in and determine what to pitch out. My job was to sort through the thousands of books and determine which ones to keep. (I am happy to report that we were able to get rid of three of them!) — From the page […]

  9. Bob Says:

    Very well made point. I have studied the Bible all my life but do not remember ever hearing that word means faith or close to it in Hebrew. I love that and loved your post. Bob

  10. Billy Cox Says:

    There’s no magic formula for success. However,faith backed up by consistent action in persuit of a clear goal is the recipe for success in any endeavour !
    Looking forward to the webcast!


  11. Zig Ziglar is an inspriation to everyone. He is amazing!
    I have enjoyed his many self improvement CD’s.
    What I like most about Zig Ziglar is his wonderful sense of humor. Yes faith and faith in God is most important. Mr. Ziglar has influenced me greatly.
    Faith in God, the Universe, the Law of Attraction, will nourish one’s mindset to achieve abundance in business and in life. Much Gratitude to you Tom and your Father.


  12. Dear Tom–
    what a beautiful piece and how moved I was to read that your dad actually considered Buried Treasure worthy of his time. I feel so privileged. thank you for writing about this experience. I am looking forward to seeing you and your dad this Tuesday with eager anticipation.
    your friend-
    Daniel
    http://www.RabbiDanielLapin.com
    American Alliance of Jews and Christians

  13. velocitydesign Says:

    I can’t tell you how many times “faith” and “business” have coincided in my life. I am learning, as a great man says, “you can have anything you want in life, if you help enough other people get what they want”. I have spent the last year and a half dedicating myself to networking for the purpose of serving others and it is now returning to me from those same people as they reach out to me. I have constant work and real relationships instead of customers and contacts.

    I believe that God frequently allows earthly models for heavenly blessings ~ “If you want to be great in God’s kingdom, learn to be the servant of all.”

    Danielle Cuddie

  14. JeD Chan Says:

    Faith, Business, Prosperity. I love these 3 combination. Sound like a recipe for success.

    Thanks so much! I really admire the Ziglars. Have faith. More Power!

    God Bless!

  15. Ben Lang Says:

    Great post. Go Ziglars, you guys are amazing.

  16. Chris Says:

    Tom – I agree, in theory, with the principle of working first, then get paid. I agree with the “faith” aspects and waiting on the Lord’s blessings. However, I have to tell you that for the last 13 years, I adopted this belief with my former employer. I would work all hours of the night. I would travel domestically and internationally for the company. I truly epitomized the “whatever-it-takes” mentality for my company all with the idea that through faith, I would be rewarded. Every year for 13 years, my reward was never commensurate with the amount of work I would put into this organization. However, the owners and upper managers of this organization would reap the rewards and proudly displayed their spoils to the rest of the company and would justify their decisions based on whatever circumstances suited them.

    My point with this is, while I believe in this principle of work first, reward later, I think it’s important to point out that there are business leaders in this world who are morally corrupt, ethically imbalanced, and have no problems making arbitrary decisions that diminshes the sacrifice we make as the “worker bees”.

    In those circumstances, at what point do you draw the line in the sand and say enough is enough……pay me or I’m gone?

    Thanks,
    Chris Hansel


  17. Thanks for sharing, Tom! This is so inspirational!

  18. Archie Winningham Says:

    Yeah Tom, I have some of your dad’s books and I have “underlined” many of his quotes as well. Maybe someday my two sons will get them out and feel the same way you did as you noticed all the underlined quotes in your dad’s books. That would be awesome.

    Great blog post once again Tom.

    Archie

  19. Audrey Says:

    Have you read Love Is the Killer App by Tim Sanders? He highly suggests writing notes in books, underlining in books etc. He’s not a supporter of a read book looking brand new 🙂


  20. […] comment to Tom on this article, click here.  Tom is the CEO of Ziglar, Inc. and the proud son of Zig Ziglar.  You can read more of Tom’s […]

  21. Mike Rightmire Says:

    This speaks volumes about the health of this great country. We need to take it back.

    Thank you for sharing.


  22. I read a book on the life of Fred Bear, his quote reminded me of one in the story. A salesman came back from a sales trip and told Fred Bear, you can lead a customer to water but you can’t make him drink. And Fred said it is not your job to make him drink, it is your job to make him thisty!

  23. joe Says:

    Will you post a list of the books that were the collection?

    • Tom Ziglar Says:

      Joe – wow, there are several thousand in the collection of books. I can’t post the entire list, but I will put together a list of Dad’s favorite authors and books.

  24. Mompti Says:

    Sometimes you don’t have to search too far to find your treasure.


Leave a Reply

