Run The Race All Out!

Every now and then I get an email message that just has to be shared.  The following came from my good friend Scott Turner.  Scott has been featured on our Success 2.0 Webcast and is a dynamic and inspiring speaker.
___________________________________
Good Morning All!

As I was praying this morning, the Lord put it on my heart to share a few encouraging thoughts with you.

The summer before my senior year in college, I was invited to run in the World Championship Trials track meet in Eugene Oregon. (Beautiful place by the way!) I was there to compete in the 400 meter dash, the event I ran while attending the University of Illinois and won the Big Ten Championship in a couple of times.  Which is very odd because when I was in high school I was a 100 and 200 meter guy.  I said I would never run the quarter…hurt too much!!  Anyway, right before we were getting ready to step on the track, I asked Michael Johnson who was the world record holder at the time and still is, “What is the best way to run the 400?”  He looked at me and simply said, “ALL OUT!”  Stunned, because that is not what I was expecting to hear, I said…”OK.” I knew that when I asked the number one guy in the world that question, I better be prepared to take what he said and then to carry it out.  He was the best. He then said to me, “Just stay on my inside hip and run with me the first 200 meters.  I was in lane 3 and he was in lane 5.

This was the line up for our preliminary heat;  Michael Johnson, World Record Holder; Butch Reynolds, previous World Record Holder; Quincy Watts, Olympic Gold Medalist 400 meters; Antonio Pettigrew, World Record Holder, 800 Meters; Myself and 4 additional college athletes.

The starter shot the gun and we all took off.  As I was told to do, I concentrated on the inside hip of Michael Johnson and stayed there with him.  As we came through the first 200 meters, the announcer came over the PA system and said 20.9 seconds for split of the first 200!  I remember to this day thinking to myself, “That’s too fast, I have never ran that fast the first 200!” Most people don’t run that fast in the open 200 meter race.  But…I realized two things,  1. I was out of my comfort zone. 2. I had the ability to do it. I then realized this is what it takes to be the best!

At that time, I saw Michael dig down and hit another gear and I ran as hard as I could to keep up and finish strong.  In the end, I finished 5th right behind the top four in the world.  I was a great race but more importantly a great lesson.  As a result of the race, I was invited to run in Europe and the World University Games representing the USA.

Notice when I asked MJ how to run the 400, he said “ALL OUT!”  He did not say “PACE YOURSELF” like I’ve heard so many others say.  Those guys are not World Record Holders either!

Point: What about our walk with CHRIST?  Are we “Living ALL OUT for HIM? or Are we Pacing Ourselves and holding on to something that we need to let go?  The normal tendency is to pace yourself in the 400 due to the fear factor of extreme pain when you run All OUT from the start to the finish. Afraid we won’t have anything left in the end…not enough endurance.  It all depends on how you train/prepare yourself!

Many of us live this way when it comes to our relationship with CHRIST.  We are afraid to sell out and totally commit.  It cost too much, hurts (our pride/ego), sacrifice is too great… we think.  Remember, CHRIST made the ultimate sacrifice and paid the highest penalty for you and I.  HE died for us and gave HIS life on Calvary’s Cross for us.  NOTE: Every drop of blood that fell from JESUS’ body, had a name on it.  Mine, yours, everybody.  When he was being crucified, he had you on HIS mind! Are you willing today to live ALL OUT for the KING of KINGS and the LORD of LORDS?  Remember, (Philippians 4:13) ” I can do all things through CHRIST who strengthens me.”

Four Principles: 1). Jesus must be Lord of your life. (John 3:16) (Luke 6:46)  2). There is a purpose and destiny for your life. You are here for a reason. (Jeremiah 1:4-7) (Jeremiah 29:11) (Psalm 139: 13-17)  3). Live everyday with Godly Humility. (Philippians 2:1-11) (I Peter 5:6)  4). Have an unwavering faith in the Lord. (Hebrews 10:35-39: 11:6) ( Proverbs 3:5-6)

“Live ALL OUT for JESUS… Don’t Pace Yourself!”  Note: Thanks to Brett Heers for the inspiration for the title!

Bless You,

Scottie T.
You can contact Scott:  www.speakaword.com and his direct email is sturner29@aol.com

Explore posts in the same categories: Business, exercise, Faith, performance, speaking

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Run The Race All Out!”

  1. velocitydesign Says:

    Great! Thank you for the post.


  2. […] Tom Ziglar lets us read a letter from a friend with a message both us Christians and ‘us Christians’ need to soak in for a […]


  3. […] Tom Ziglar lets us read a letter from a friend with a message both us Christians and ‘us Christians’ need to soak in for a […]


  4. Excellent post – thank you.


Leave a Reply

