Focus in a Storm – Dance Until it Rains

On Saturday, July 4th, I had the great honor and pleasure of speaking at a Tea Party in Fayetteville, Arkansas.  Laurie Masterson, the person who invited me and who did a great deal of the groundwork, is a true reflection of her community – kind, hardworking, generous, concerned, and committed to making a difference.  My wife and daughter both commented on how friendly everyone was, and we even talked about the NWA of Arkansas being a great place to live.

Of course, every event has a highlight, and for me it was the big rain storm that started five minutes into my speech.  Suddenly, the 1000 people enjoying the surprisingly cool outdoors were now scrambling for cover.  Just like true Americans who know what to do when a storm comes, we improvised.  I finished my talk without the aid of a sound system, as did the other speakers who came after me, under the cover of a large tin roof (with no walls to ruin the view!).

As I looked out over the crowd, pressed close so they could hear, ignoring the rain and the thunder and the lightning, I suddenly felt very proud to be an American.  Each person there came for a reason that was far greater than their personal comfort.  I noticed how people were looking out for their neighbor, not concerned about their own needs.  In a nutshell, the storm was very symbolic of what is going on in our country, and what is right about America.

The storm also gave me a chance to tell a story I heard from Andy Andrews.  Andy told a story about a tribe of Aborigines in Australia that were famous for doing rain dances.  In fact, every community that experienced a major drought would bring this group of people in, and 100% of the time when they danced, the rain would come.

One time one of the community leaders had a private conversation with one of the tribal elders and asked him why they were so successful.  He said it was pretty simple, really – they just danced until it rained.

I have a strong belief that the Tea Party movement is really the start of a dance here in America.  A dance to bring back the values that our country was founded on.  I know the people in Fayetteville, Arkansas, who attended the Tea Party are committed to dancing until it rains – are you?

My sincere thanks to everyone for such a great event (and a big hug for you Laurie!).

Check out these news articles about the Tea Party:
Fourth of July TEA party goes on despite rain
Group Rallies For Freedom, Against Big Government

Explore posts in the same categories: economy, government, Purity

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Focus in a Storm – Dance Until it Rains”


  1. […] This post was Twitted by ImGingerSmith […]

  2. michael Says:

    Tom it was great to see you in NWA. Having spent sixteen years in the Dallas area prior to moving to NWA, I got a kick out of your comment about the scenery being better no matter where you go. I was so sorry your speech was rained out. I hope you had a good visit while you were here. I enjoyed listening to your dad on KCBI radio for many years, and was so glad to see you at the event. Thanks for coming

    Mike B


  3. […] Focus in a Storm – Dance Until it Rains « Ziglar Pure and Simple […]

  4. Paul Crik Says:

    We’ll said! I like the story about dancing till it rains. Often we’re so impatient with success that we don’t even give it enough time to actually happen. Lately I’ve started running again – my plan was to go three miles a day. Early on, I’d get this little voice in my head saying “You won’t make it three miles today, it’s too hard.” I found if I ignored the voice and kept going, I’d run even farther than the day before!


  5. […] His latest post really got me thinking, you can read it here. […]

  6. Jerome Says:

    This story was absolutely wonderful, and just what I needed today! I tend to be that person that gets excited at the start, but quickly run out of momentum for the project. The rain never seems to come fast enough. I need to remember that there is a 100% chance it won’t come for me if I give up before it gets here. Tough lesson, great message!

  7. Colleen Says:

    Twittered the story, thanks!

  8. sham sunder azad Says:

    06-08-2008

    DANCE IN THE RAIN- DONT WE REALLY DANCE AMIDST THE RAINS: THE DIFFICULT TIMES IN OUR LIFE?HOW HAVE WE OVERCOME THE SERIOUS SITUATIONS,ENCOUNTERING EMBARRASSMENTS,OFTEN ON PETTY ISSUES-DON’
    WE REALIZE WE HAVE BEEN BLESSED WITH ADEQUATE STAMINA TO COUNTERACT –

    LOOKING FORWARD TO ALL OF TO EXPRESS THIS
    ASPECT OF HUMAN ENDEAVOURANCE

    SHAM SUNDER AZAD

  9. SHAM SUNDER AZD Says:

    01-12-2009
    its nice to watch the proceedings of this site-along with comments still being maintained-its a co incidence that we reach out to the site,again with another catchy
    option:(stated above)& quite a thrill to feel amongts many others-
    surprising no follow-up?
    please keep us judiciously as well as intellectually well-informed-
    shall be highly appreciated-
    SHAM SUNDER AZD


Leave a Reply

