Zig Ziglar on Failure

 

“Failure is an event, not a person.”  Zig Ziglar

 

This is one of my favorite quotes from Dad.  Today, Seth Godin wrote this article Failure as an event .  Great lessons for all of us. 

 

My favorite take away from the article – “Being the dumbest partner in a room of smart people is exactly where you want to be.”

 

Seth has written a great new book called Tribes.  It sells the usual way, but he has done something very interesting.  You can pay the normal book store price for the paper version, or you can get it at iTunes in the audio version for less than half the print version.  Or you can get it at Audible for free.  Hmm, I wonder if he is thinking his fans will tell everyone they know about it?

 

So, in this time of economic “failure,” what are you doing?  Two things I recommend that will give you huge returns:

 

  1. Invest in yourself.  Develop your mind.
  2. Study the Gretzky Principle.

 

When asked why he was such a great hockey player, Wayne Gretzky simply said, “I skate to where the puck is going to be, not where it is.”  In your business, where is the puck going?  Get there first.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Business, economy, market trends, performance

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Zig Ziglar on Failure”

  1. Seth Godin Says:

    Tom

    it means so much that you found the book and mentioned it

    Zig is the man, the original, our hero.

  2. Maria Says:

    I love it! It´s great! Fantástic!


  3. Tom,

    First, thank you for giving me Tribes when we had lunch. Every business owner should read it. And let’s not forget about Permission Marketing folks!!

    I also wanted to share with you (and everyone else) how your dad touched our audience when he came to my event. After Zig spoke about the Home Court Advantage, a number of men rushed out of the room to call their wives. In this case, it was a girl friend that he decided to marry!

    Here’s what he said:

    “… and by the way implementing my first zig ziglar book over the top, was unable to purchase his whole program as I would have liked to but picked up his book at the store and after hearing his presentation at round table (I was one of the guys who had to go outside immediately after and call her) we are both reading it and have planned to get married before years end. I cant really explain to you what an eye opener that was for me Howard, I was so far away from that thought before the round table zig is really something elseand I cant believe I missed his name in your material , not that it wasn’t there as it was after reviewing again, I just didn’t take notice of his name or the message behind it. I truly want to thank you for you and your message and how you have enlightened me and for shining the light onto zig for me to see finally, thank you thank you thank you!!!

  4. Rob Says:

    We should also remember another Gretzky statement:

    “You miss 100% of the shots on goal that you never take”


  5. I love that quote. “failure is an event, not a person” I think I have it on a wallpaper for my desktop on my other computer. Anyways, it’s so true.


  6. […] Quote of the Day 10Nov08 I skate to where the puck is going to be, not where it is – The Gretzky Principle (Zig Ziglar on failure) […]


Leave a Reply

