Eating Pure and Simple

 

Losing almost 70 pounds in just over a year (I like saying almost 70 rather than 68, it just sounds like more!), I thought I would share with you two of my favorite things to eat.

 

My favorite breakfast is John McCann’s Steel Cut Irish Oatmeal.  It is a very hearty oatmeal, no added flavors or chemicals, nothing processed, not the rolled kind but the little pellets.  It takes a little longer to cook, about 25 minutes on the stove.  I think the 25 minute build-up time actually makes you want it more and makes it more satisfying when you get it.  Once the oatmeal is cooked I add fresh berries to it like blueberries, strawberries, blackberries, or raspberries.  I choose organic berries if I can find them.  I heard yesterday that organic berries have 50% more antioxidants than conventional ones, so that is a big plus.  I also add some walnuts and almonds to it. 

 

This breakfast is warm, satisfying, natural, filling, a little sweet with the berries, and crunchy with the nuts.  It can easily hold you till lunch or your mid-morning snack and you don’t get the “heavy” feeling that often comes with a traditional big breakfast.

 

My favorite snack is very similar, but totally different in taste and texture.  I often have this snack as a dessert after dinner (but not too late).  I get non-fat plain organic yogurt and add the berries and the nuts to it.  Once again the berries add the sweet and the nuts add the crunch. 

 

My dog Max loves it when I have this snack as well!  He gets to lick the bowl.  Many nights he will remind me right after dinner that I need to fix my “dessert”!  Eating pure and simple is really just a choice, and one that has all kinds of benefits.

 

Max enjoys non-fat yogurt! (so good you can eat it with your eyes closed!)

Max enjoys non-fat yogurt! (so good you can eat it with your eyes closed!)

Explore posts in the same categories: Diet, Health, Success, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Eating Pure and Simple”


  1. Hi Tom!
    Congratulations on your weight loss!!! Than you for sharing about the Oatmeal, as I eat oatmeal each morning and will try some of that!!!!

    Weight loss can be so challenging and overwhelming. I beleive that people need to set weekly goals, that are doable, and not,”beat themselves up,” if they miss that goal. There is always next week. I beleive the repition and discipline of exercise and diet is more important in the long run!!!
    Congratulations for recognizing that you needed to lose weight, the goinng about exercising and dieting!!

  2. Bry Harris Says:

    Tom, way to go! Icame to one of your dad’s seminar’s a few years ago (the golfing pastor who did magic tricks for your daughter)… and it is neat to see you living out the principles he taught. I am still climbing the ladder (see you at the top 😉 and addition to pastoring, I am also now a Jimmy Buffett tribute band leader- Continued blessings! Bry Harris – http://www.parrotislandband.com


  3. Also worth trying are whole oats. Cook a week’s worth in a double boiler to avoid sticking and burning, put portions in small glass dishes with lids in refrigerator and then use the microwave to heat each morning. The whole oats have loads of texture.


Leave a Reply

