Playing Dominoes with Dad

 

 One of my favorite sayings from Dad is “Love is spelled T-I-M-E.”  We have the joy of getting together as a family to play dominoes every so often, and there is nothing like the T-I-M-E we have during those games!  We razz each other days before the game, during the game, and for days after the game. 

 

Our last game was really awesome.  Mom, “The Redhead,” was all giggles and instructions.  My brother-in-law Jim “The Intimidator” Norman as usual had us all convinced he had won days before we started.  My daughter Alexandra “HelloKittyBallerinaGirl” Ziglar was fully engaged in the game while texting her friends and occasionally doing dance moves while sitting down.  My niece Katherine “I Can Impersonate Anyone” Lemons always makes the game more fun because you can leave the table to take care of business and while you are gone she will “be you,” meaning people can laugh at you without really laughing at you!

 

My sister Cindy “You Only Think I Can’t Tell a Joke” Oates had us all rolling with her pirate jokes and her friend Laurel “I Didn’t Know You Can’t Do That” Marshall was up to her usual tricks of deception and distraction.  Meanwhile, The Dynamic Duo of Dad “Embrace the Struggle” Ziglar and my sister Julie “The Editor” Norman had teamed up and Julie was doing what she does best – editing Dad’s moves!  (My nickname is Tom “I Am Not Coming In Last This Time” Ziglar.  We did have a couple of spectators for the big event.  My wife Chachis “I am not a game person” Ziglar and my brother-in-law Richard “I Am Not A Game Person either” Oates. 

 

This game was one for the ages, over four hours of T-I-M-E together.  Several great things happened:  I didn’t come in last, Jim Norman didn’t win, and Dad and Julie did win!  (By the way, Dad really likes to win!)

 

Here was the big win for me.  About every hour Dad would say “Nothing makes me happier than to be with my family.  I can’t imagine anything being more fun or better than this.”

 

Turn off the TV and play a game with your family and see how much T-I-M-E can add to your life. 

Explore posts in the same categories: communication, family, Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Playing Dominoes with Dad”

  1. brian Says:

    Tom, Sounds like a blast. What kind of dominoes do you play?

  2. Tom Ziglar Says:

    Brian – we play Mexican Train. We do have a blast.


  3. Hahahaha! Sounds like you all had a blast & a great family! It’s easier to “embrace the struggle” when you’ve got a great family to embrace as well. Awesome.
    Wendy


Leave a Reply

