Just Start

When you are in the middle of an immense struggle, what do you do? Maybe you have lost a loved one, or you are unemployed, or you are raising the kids alone, or you are in a health crisis or caring for someone who is in a health crisis. What do you do?

Just start.

Last year I attended the memorial service of Fred Smith. Fred was Dad’s mentor and the wisest man I have ever met. Fred’s last couple of years were very tough. He was bedridden, totally dependent, and in terrible pain. His mind was extremely sharp but he had very little energy. In a video he left for the memorial service, Fred talked about the lessons he learned in life, and especially in the last year before he died.

One thing Fred said really impacted me. He said that God doesn’t give you strength to overcome; He gives you strength while you are overcoming. Fred said that he realized that his only responsibility to God was to “just start” what God laid on his heart to do. In his last days Fred impacted many lives through his writings because he “just started” each morning when he woke up. No fear, no pressure to finish the job, he “just started.” At the end of the day he would realize that God had indeed given him the strength he needed while he was overcoming. The awesome thing about this is this is exactly how God works. If we could do incredible things on our own then we really wouldn’t need God or learn to depend on Him.

You can learn more about Fred at BreakfastwithFred

Explore posts in the same categories: economy, Health, performance, Success, Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Just Start”

  1. Purita Says:

    How wonderful!

    Sometimes I struggle to get my day going because I dont’ know which direction to go in. I know what I want to do, but sometimes I just don’t know where or how to start. I thank God every morning for the beautiful I day I will have and ask for strength and guidance. I have a 12 year old daughter (she’s a beauty, just like yours!) and I try to teach her to be positive and believe that God will always provide. It’s a struggle sometimes, but I do eventually get there.

    I would like to print a copy of your blog to hang on my wall next to my desk. “Just start” is something I will do every morning after giving thanks to God. When I feel that I can’t do, I will have “just start” in front of me to get moving.

    Thank you for sharing and God bless you and yours.

    Purita


  2. Thanks for the great reminder to “just start!” God bless ya! Wendy M. Reynolds

  3. wonglirhen Says:

    Dear Tom,

    Thanks so much for your post. I wish I could had met and know Fred too. Plus the Ziglar family 😀

    As I watched The Passion of the Christ last night on Good Friday, it never fails to amaze me how Jesus kept overcoming the odds that was against Him. There was a moment when He was literally unable to lift the cross and God sent a Simon to come carry the cross together.

    God doesn’t give you strength to overcome, He gives you strength while you are overcoming. Awesome.

    Blessings,
    Paul from Vietnam


  4. Dear tom, i have been a very big fan of Mr.Zig Ziglar. i am really grateful to mr ziglar, m a network marketer and have read many og his books, an hence has boosted my business, i just love secrets of closing the sale an recommend all my associates to read it.
    Do pass on my msg to mr zig ziglar,i whole heartedly thank him for the experience he has passed on through his books.
    m sure ur carryin forward his legacy.


  5. Hi Tom,
    Great message.
    Thanks for sharing.


  6. Wow, of course the powerful messages seem so simple & yet so complex. I remember vividly asking “what should I do?” when I was at another change point in my life some years ago- the reply “Do something” It took me many years to fully appreciate the wisdom of this channel.Its the hardest thing to do something- we always expect an immediate reward & loose faith in the struggle of acheivment- I always try to “do something” every day & appreciate the opportunity I have been given to choose what it is I will do. I hope that with this attitude I am guided to experience many thangs that will allow me to grow, I hope for more good than struggle but this cannot be guaranteed. Once I begin to move that day I know that I am moving with the world around me & anything is possible. Thankyou for sharing this wisdom Tom, it means a lot.


  7. Hi, Tom – what a nice post. The truth is always so simple, isn’t it? And yet, we always benefit from reminders such as yours!!

  8. Billy Cox Says:

    I remember hearing Fred speak at Roaring Lambs dinner when they were honoring him. He was brought out onto the stage to receive his award. They set his bed up and atached a mike to him and he started to speak. I was amazed. The words he spoke were profound. He captured the audience and drawed them in to every word. He literally Mesmerized the crowd.

    The late great Charlie “Tremendous Jones” Leaned over to me and said “He’s able to do that because he reads good books and keeps his mind sharp” I wish I had a copy of the talk he gave that night because I’d love to hear it again. I met Fred that night,got a picture with him,and eventually read his book “You and Your Network”

    Thanks Tom for putting things into perspective so wisely.


Leave a Reply

